Roseanne in bloom

 

Adam Sandel and Roseanne Barr

Adam Sandel and Roseanne Barr

After a long absence from television and standup comedy, Roseanne Barr is back — and blogging. The outspoken comic who shot to fame in the hit sitcom Roseanne has never been at a loss for words, or controversy. She brings both to her website and blog Roseanne World: www.roseanneworld.com.

When she brought her stand-up act to San Francisco — which aired as the HBO special Blonde and Bitchin’ — I had a chance to chat with the infamous star.

Who pisses Roseanne off these days? “Everyone,” she says. “The whole world. God, Satan, Bush, my children, my boyfriend, my neighbors… being pissed off has brought me to great enlightenment. You’re always looking through a pissed-off prism.”

But the former queen of the small screen watches almost no television today. “I do enjoy shows about Hitler and serial killers and stuff. They’re just so hideous that it scares me and keeps me in the house buying stuff on the Internet. I spend a lot of time on the Internet, where you can learn so much more than on TV.”

A notoriously memorable moment in Barr’s career was her screeching rendition of “The Star-Spangled Banner” at a 1990 San Diego Padres baseball game, after which she responded to the booing crowd by grabbing her crotch. President George Bush called it “disgusting” and “a disgrace” and the brief event triggered a firestorm.

"Oh, say can you see...!"

"Oh, say can you see...!"

“I was scared to death after that,” she says. “I was getting threats, I had 24-hour armed guards at my house and following my kids. It was the day before Desert Storm, and I was a lightning rod. Right-wing radio was just starting, they were bashing ‘femi-Nazis,’ and I was the first one. I was the original Dixie Chick. I’m Jewish, so a lot of anti-Semitic stuff came up; the Veterans of Foreign Wars were pressuring ABC to cancel my show. It still comes back to me. I feel like I’ve kind of been blacklisted since that.”

Barr’s philosophy towards Judaism is also unorthodox. “I think it’s good for Jews to intermarry and mix up the gene pool,” she says. “I tried to mix it up as much as I could. I’ve added some Irish, some Scottish, and my little boy is Finnish. It helps to make us less crazy and paranoid. And it creates much less craving of carbohydrates.”

Raising her 13-year-old son Buck is what keeps Barr busy these days. “Mostly yelling at him and making him wait on me,” she says. “He’s a real delight. He loves watching my show and saying things like, ‘Hey Mom, did you know you were that fat?'”

 

The cast of "Roseanne"

The cast of "Roseanne"

Of her recent return to standup comedy after 14 years, Barr says, “I had stage fright after the ‘Star-Spangled Banner’ thing, but after 9/11, I figured I’m not gonna’ let fear silence me. My whole show is about standing up to fear. You empower yourself when you mock power. Comedy is about afflicting the comfortable and comforting the afflicted.”

And occasionally grabbing your crotch.

Listen to “Happy Hour with Adam Sandel” 7 days a week!

Noon-1:00 Pacific Time, 3-4:00 pm Eastern.

Go to: http://www.EnergyTalkRadio.com and “Click to Listen” on MAC, Windows or iPhone!

Or download and hear all “Happy Hour” episodes at:

www.energytalkradio.com/programsshows.html&program=10

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Roseanne in bloom”

  1. Celebritylife.org Says:

    Celebritylife.org trackingback – Roseanne in bloom…

    Celebritylife.org trackingback – Roseanne in bloom…

Leave a Reply

